Read here for full information on how your privacy is protected by the site. What comes next is focused on how the information from your profile is displayed to visitors or other users and the configuration options.
When you sign up to Bratabase you create a user and a user automatically has a profile page where your information is shown:
- Profile picture
- Last login date
- Bras added
- Short rant about bras
- Active listings
- Review written
- Bra adventures
- Site activity
- Followers and users you are following
Your profile page is visible by all Bratabase visitors by default, this allows you to share your profile URL and have it linked from other websites, such as your blog, the Bratabase widget and search engines.
Every time you participate on the site by commenting, adding new entries such as reviews, listings, fit requests or bras, an activity entry is recorded with it.
This activity is shown in your profile so other users can see what you are up to. Think of it as your Facebook wall.
You have control over who can see this information.
Activity stream privacy
These are the privacy options a user can set in order to control her “socialness” on Bratabase.
The home stream is the sum of activities that a user has subscribed to/followed. This is like a Facebook wall/Twitter feed where you see the activity of friends or follows. The home stream will have a limit of showing the 20 most recent activities.
This is a global control to toggle social options:
- Yes, I’m social
- No, I’m not here to be social
When set to #2 all other options will turn to the last one (the least social one).
Activity stream visibility
This controls who can view your activity stream. You can set it to either of these options:
- My stream is publicly visible
- Only logged users can see my stream
- Only followers can see my stream
- Nobody can see my stream
When first launched, the default will be either #1 or #2 depending on the preference set for the user’s profile visibility (only logged in users or wide open Internet).
Only the 30 most recent activities will be shown in your profile page.
When changing to #4, the preferences to be followed will change to #2 and all follows will be deleted. It also will make your following/followers list invisible. Setting visibility on #4 does not block you from following other users.
You can set these options for being followed:
- Anybody with capability can follow you
- Nobody can follow you (will be auto set when selecting #4 on stream visibility)
When you are followed the user will see your activity on their home stream.
When changing the setting from #1 to #2 all follows will be deleted. If returning back to #1 people will have to follow you again.
Being followed will increase your reputation.
These are the following rules to follow a user:
- You must have at least 10 reputation to be able to follow users
- You can follow 2 users for free, after that one more user per 10 reputation points
- By each time someone follows you, you can follow someone else.
- Users with high reputation have the above limits removed.
If you have access to the user’s stream then you see all the actions. All user’s activity is always recorded even if the privacy option is set not to show it. So when you enable it again it will be available for you based on your preferences.
These are the options:
- Anybody can see who I follow and follows me
- Only Bratabase users can see who I follow and follows me
- Only people I follow can see who I follow and follows me
- Nobody can see who I follow and follows me.
Initially the option will be set according to profile visibility and set on #1 or #2. If I stream visibility is set to #4 then this option will be set to #4 automatically.
There is no option to show only followers and not following or viceversa, both lists are shown or hidden together.